nascarwhelen.jpg2014 Local Tracks

2014 Schedule         Last race:

Name, talent draws attention
By Scott Linesburgh

Record Staff Writer

May 04, 2014 12:00 AM

NASCAR Next program driver Brandon McReynolds finished fourth in Saturday's K&N Pro West Series Stockton 150.

STOCKTON - Brandon McReynolds doesn't have any problem getting attention on the NASCAR circuit.

He's the son of famed crew chief and Sprint Cup broad-caster Larry McReynolds and one of 12 promising young drivers who was selected for the NASCAR Next program.

The 23-year-old driver from Charlotte, N.C., came to town on a windy Saturday for the K&N Pro West Series' Stockton 150 at Stockton 99 Speedway and finished fourth in the race won by David Mayhew of Atascadero in front of an estimated crowd of 3,000.

McReynolds was one of two NASCAR Next drivers in the event, joining Dylan Lupton of Wilton. Past members include current Sprint Cup driver Kyle Larson, who won the World of Outlaws race in Stockton in 2013.

"It's an honor," said Lupton, who finished sixth. "It's nice that NASCAR has shown faith in us and said that these are the young drivers who you should watch out for in the future."

McReynolds said the main benefit is the attention a driver gets from being a part of the program.

"The publicity, that's the main thing," McReynolds said. "Just to be a part of it is great."

In McReynolds' case, his name already is well-known in the racing community. Larry McReynolds won two Daytona 500 races as a crew chief - with Davey Allison in 1992 and Dale Earnhardt Sr. in 1998. He retired in 2000 and is an analyst for Fox Sports.

"I think when I was younger there was some added pressure because of who my father was because I wasn't mature enough to always handle it," McReynolds said. "But now I look at it as an opportunity to perform under pressure. I think it's good to be in the spotlight."

McReynolds races for Bill McAnally Racing, which is based in Sacramento.

Mayhew was the pole-sitter with a qualifying lap of 13.836 seconds and outdueled Greg Pursley of Newhall for the win. Pursley had the lead for 16 laps before Mayhew took it away on lap 56 and didn't give it up.

Cameron Austin (Legends), Jimmie Sorrels (Pro 4), Dave Kong (B-4s) and Cameron Legue (Mini Cup) were the other main event winners.


Hit Counter