99's DIVISION Points and Results   DRIVER Rosters  WEEKLY Story

SRL Pubic Relations / Eddie Alves

Fensler Grabs Fourth Victory of 2005

Anderson, Calif. (June 4) -- The SRL Wild West Shootout made their only visit to Shasta Raceway Park in Anderson, California Saturday night for the "106.1X" 100 lap feature event. Wilton's Jason Fensler won his fourth race of the 2005 season on the 3/8 mile track. Ken Boyd finished second followed by Harold Rieker Jr., Troy Ermish, and Joey Zampa.

Harold Rieker Jr. of Roseville was the fastest car in qualifying as he earned fast time honors for the first time in his SRL career.  Rieker's fast lap of 15.939 seconds topped Jason Fensler (15.961), Eric Schmidt, (15.962), Mark Smith, (15.996) as Ken Boyd rounded out the top five at 16.000 seconds. Tracy's Mark Smith won the four lap trophy dash as Fensler, Rieker Jr., and Schmidt followed.

Rieker Jr. drew a six which determined the invert for the 100 lap "106.1X" feature event. Troy Ermish sat on the pole with Ken Boyd a long side as the green flag was displayed. Boyd beat Ermish to the line to lead lap one by inches as Schmidt ran third. Salida's Jeff Belletto retired on lap five due to an electrical problem. Meanwhile Eric Schmidt passed Ermish to take over second. Eric Graham made his second start of 2005 with the SRL and lost power after 8 laps. Mark Smith and Jason Fensler who were running fourth and fifth respectively made contact in the middle of turn three and four causing Smith to spin on lap 12. Smith was able to resume as the race continued caution free. Boyd had a comfortable lead as Schmidt started to close the gap on lap 20 with Ermish, Fensler, and Rieker Jr., closely behind.

The first and only caution flag was displayed on lap 26 as Joey Zampa and Rusty Buholz ran out of race track heading into turn three as Buholz slid across the infield and hit the tire barrier. Zampa was placed in the rear of the field as Buholz was finished for the evening with front end and suspension damage. Boyd continued to lead Schmidt as Fensler passed Ermish to take the third position over on the lap 28 restart. Rieker Jr. rounded out the top five as they all ran nose to tail until lap 46 when Fensler passed Schmidt to take second spot. Defending Series Champion Steve Belletto retired on lap 53 with mechanical failure and would finish 14th. Boyd's lead started shrinking on lap 60 as Fensler started closing in fast for the top spot. Boyd held off Fensler for nine more laps as Fensler beat Boyd to the line to lead lap 70. Rieker Jr., took third away from Schmidt four laps later as Ermish took fourth away from Schmidt on lap 82.

After starting 15th Napa's Joey Zampa charged into fifth on lap 91 and Schmidt slipped back to sixth. Mike Mendenhall followed Zampa to take sixth from Schmidt with six laps to go. Jim Courage Jr. ran eight as 17 year old rookie Jeremy Wood ran ninth with Tracy Bolin tenth and Mark Smith tenth.

Fensler held off Boyd in the late stages of the race to win his fourth race of the 2005 season. "I didn't think we had the best car tonight" Fensler said. "We were able to use some lap traffic to get around Kenny (Boyd). I told my crew I wanted to bring the car home in one piece. I give a lot of credit to Kenny for racing me clean tonight. We were racing for points, but the way it turned out we got the win to." Ken Boyd finished right behind Fensler and Congratulated Fensler on his victory. "We had a real fast car tonight, but after the restart it tightened up on us a little bit." A smiling Harold Rieker Jr. said "We had a fast car, set quick time, but we couldn't catch up to Ken (Boyd) and Jason (Fensler). I think this is the first race we've been able to finish here at Shasta ever".
Rieker Jr. finished third for the second consecutive race and jumped two spots into seventh in the Championship point standings. Troy Ermish finished fourth as he earned his third top five finish on the year. Joey Zampa rounded out the top five from his 15th started position and had one of the fastest cars on the track all night.

Santee's Mike Mendenhall finished sixth in his first ever visit to Shasta Raceway Park. After running in the top three for the majority of the race, Roseville's Eric Schmidt finished seventh. Jim Courage Jr. finished eight after qualifying seventh earlier in the day. Jeremy Wood earned rookie of the race honors as he finished ninth and his third top ten finish of the 2005 season. Wood now leads the Victory Circle Chassis and Parts Rookie of the Year point standings over Rusty Buholz by two points as they sit 11th and 12th in the Championship standings. After spinning early in the race Mark Smith rebounded to a tenth place finish and moves back into the top five in the Championship point standings. Tracy Bolin finished 11th, followed by Aaron Days, John Gaalswyk, Steve Belletto, Rusty Buholz, Eric Graham, and Jeff Belletto.

Average race speed: 79.177 MPH
Best lap time: 16.104 Speed 83.830  (Eric Schmidt)
Margin of Victory: 1.082 seconds

The SRL Wild West Shootout heads to Altamont Raceway & Arena on Saturday, June 18th.

Davey Hamilton’s SRL “Wild West Shootout” would like to thank their 2005 Sponsors, which include: Afco, Apex Financial Group, Bassett Racing Wheels, Brodix Inc., Casciaro Homes, Dynatech, DPI, Eibach Springs, FRE, Five Star Stock Car Bodies, Frank’s Radio Service, G. P. Fabrication, Hoosier Tire West, Impact Racing, Fensler Racing Inc., Madera Auto Center, Paul Oil Co., Perry Race Cars, Peterson Fluid Systems, Pit Stop USA.Com, Sunoco, Total Seal Inc., U. S. Brake, and Victory Circle Chassis and Parts.

Hit Counter

All products mentioned are registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective companies.